NelFund Nigeria


Nelfund Bulleting


The Management of Nigerian Education Loan Fund (NELFUND) is delighted to announce the onboarding of an additional twelve (12) state government-owned tertiary institutions to the student loan application portal. This expansion comes following the successful submission and verification of data completeness and accuracy required from the institutions. With this latest addition, the total number of participating state government-owned tertiary institutions has now increased from the initial 36 announced earlier to 48. Students data from 121 institutions is outstanding. Whilst paying a courtesy call on His Excellency the Governor of Osun State in Oshogbo on Tuesday, NELFUND Managing Director, Mr Akintunde Sawyerr expressed his immense gratitude to all who have submitted their data so far, and gave special recognition to the Governor His Excellency, Senator Ademola Jackson Nurudeen Adeleke for his exemplary leadership in this regard. The Fund urges all institutions that are yet to submit their students data to the Student Verification Portal (SVS) of the fund to kindly do so to enable their students benefit from the scheme. It also urges states whose data has been captured and successfully uploaded to urgently sensitise their students to apply, thereby bringing succour to students who are struggling financially whilst also bringing guaranteed revenue to the institutions. Students from the following state government-owned tertiary institutions can now visit http://nelf.gov.ng to apply for the loan.

  • Abia State Polytechnic
  • Benue State University, Makurdi
  • College of Education, Waka-Biu
  • University of Medical and Applied Sciences Enugu State
  • Aliko Dangote University of science and Technology Wudil, Kano State
  • Lagos State University of Science and Technology
  • Ibrahim Badamasi Babangida Uniersity Lapai, Niger State
  • Olabisi Onabanjo University
  • Abraham Adesanya Polytechnic
  • Taraba State Polytechnic
  • Yobe State University
  • Adamawa State University, Mubi
  • Ramat Polytechnic, Maiduguri
  • Borno State University
  • Mohammet Lawan college of Agriculture, Borno State
  • Edo State University, Uzairue
  • Ekiti State University, Ado-Ekiti
  • Gombe State University
  • Kingsley Ozumba Mbadiwe University, Imo State
  • Imo State University of Agriculture and Environmental Sciences Umuagwo
  • Nuhu Bamalli Polytechnic, Zaria
  • Yusuf Maitama Sule University, Kano
  • Umaru Musa Yar’adua University, Katsina
  • Katsina State Institute of Technology and Management
  • More on X (Twitter)

    History of the LASUSTECH

    The Lagos State University of Science and Technology (formerly known as Lagos State Polytechnic) was established with the promulgation of Lagos State Edict No. 1 of 1978 with retroactive effect from June 1, 1977. The Institution commenced classes in January, 1978 at a temporary site (now the Isolo Campus) with five Departments namely, Accountancy, Business administration, Banking and finance, Marketing and Insurance. On 1 August 1978, the School of Agriculture in Ikorodu was merged with the Institution and it became the nucleus of the present–day permanent site at Ikorodu. In 1986, the Lagos State Government changed the name of the Institution from Lagos State College of Science and technology, (LACOSTECH) to Lagos State Polytechnic (LASPOTECH). The institution was converted into a university of Science and Technology sequel to the signing of a new bill into law by the Governor of Lagos State Mr. Olusola Babajide Sanwo-Olu on Wednesday, 2nd February, 2022. On Tuesday, 8 February 2022, the Executive Secretary of the National Universities Commission (NUC), Prof. Abubakar Adamu-Rasheed mni,mfr, officially presented the certificate of the University to the Governor of Lagos State Mr. Babajide Olusola Sanwo-Olu at the NUC Secretariat Abuja. The NUC conducted a series of resource verification visit in September 2022. Thus, we have the approval to commence 38 academic programmes in our 5 colleges.

  • Agricultural Economics & Farm Management
  • Crop Production
  • Agricultural Extension & Rural Development
  • Horticulture & Landscape Management
  • Animal Production
  • Aquaculture & Fisheries Management
  • Computer Engineering
  • Civil and Construction Engineering
  • Electrical/Electronics Engineering
  • Horticulture & Landscape Management
  • Biotechnology and Food Technology
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • Mechatronics
  • Agricultural Engineering
  • Chemical Engineering
  • Architecture
  • Estate Management and Valuation
  • Quantity Surveying
  • Urban and Regional Planning
  • Art and Industrial Design
  • Building Technology
  • Industrial Chemistry
  • Chemistry
  • Mathematics
  • Industrial Mathematics
  • Microbiology
  • Botany
  • Zoology
  • Physics with Electronics
  • Computer Science
  • Economic
  • Mass Communication
  • Accounting
  • Actuarial Science
  • Banking and Finance
  • Marketing
  • Office and Information Technology
  • Business Administration
  • Insurance
  • Tourism & Hospitality Management